IBEW, EEI honor federal, state and local efforts to foster energy industry

Published on March 03, 2020 by Chris Galford

© Shutterstock

The Edison Electric Institute (EEI) and International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW) recently presented the John D. Dingell and Edwin D. Hill Awards to honor lawmakers and members for efforts advancing the energy industry.

The Dingell Award was presented to U.S. Reps. Mike Doyle (D-PA) and Adam Kinzinger (R-IL) for bipartisan efforts that culminated in the Nuclear Utilization of Keynote Energy (NUKE) Act. Ferrying it through both the House and the Senate, the pair helped NUKE become a part of the Nuclear Energy Innovation and Modernization Act, which established the foundations necessary to streamline licensing processes and increased transparency surrounding fees associated with nuclear reactor investments.

“The collaboration between Representative Doyle and Representative Kinzinger to support existing nuclear plants and to pave the way for future nuclear generation is a terrific example of bipartisan leadership that continuously propels the energy industry forward,” Tom Kuhn, EEI President, said. “Each is very deserving of this distinguished award, and we thank them for their tireless efforts and dedication to public service.”

The Hill Award pays tribute to the advance of state and local initiatives by EEI member companies and IBEW members. In this case, that took the form of IBEW’s Fourth District Local Union 245 and 1413, along with FirstEnergy. These three were recognized for successfully pushing Ohio’s House Bill 6 into law as of June 2019, which prevented the closure of two nuclear power plants. IBEW and EEI lauded the partners for having helped save some 4,300 jobs and lower electric bills in the process.

“I commend the IBEW’s Fourth District, Locals 245 and 1413, for all their efforts in working with our management partners of FirstEnergy in their successful efforts to keep these carbon-free 24/7 generation power plants up and running,” Lonnie Stephenson, IBEW International President, said. “This is just another example of the value of a strong labor-management relationship that promotes clean energy and jobs. Both FirstEnergy and our locals are very deserving of this award.”

The awards are named for former U.S. Rep. John Dingell, the longest-serving member of Congress, and for Edwin Hill, a former IBEW president, who helped create the National Labor and Management Public Affairs Committee of which IBEW and EEI are both involved.