South Dakota PUC elects new commission leadership

Published on January 10, 2017 by Daily Energy Insider Reports

Commissioner Kristie Fiegen

South Dakota Public Utilities (PUC) Commissioner Kristie Fiegen was recently elected as PUC’s chairperson at the commission meeting in Pierre, South Dakota.

Commissioner Gary Hanson was elected vice chairperson. Commissioner Chris Nelson serves as PUC’s third member.

“I am grateful for the opportunity to be the chairperson of the Public Utilities Commission,” Fiegen said. “It is an honor to represent the commission and I am committed to looking out for South Dakota consumers every day with the highest degree of integrity, respect and fairness. I am eager to continue our work on the commission to ensure South Dakotans have safe, reliable and affordable utilities.”

Gov. Dennis Daugaard appointed Fiegen to the commission in August 2011 to fill a vacancy. In November 2012, she was elected to a six-year term and served as vice chairperson in 2012, 2015 and 2016.

Hanson was first elected to the commission in 2002 and was re-elected in 2008 and 2014.

“I am appreciative of the manner in which this commission operates,” Hanson said. “Certainly, we three commissioners have our own opinions. As many folks have noted by observing our commission meetings, we have great discussions and reach agreements that are in the best interests of the South Dakota utility customers we serve.”