NERC’s Sena named to task force to explore Puerto Rico energy solutions

Published on September 11, 2018 by Dave Kovaleski

Janet Sena

Janet Sena, senior vice president and director of Policy and External Affairs at the North American Electric Reliability Corporation, was appointed to the Southern States Energy Board (SSEB) Blue Ribbon Task Force.

The Blue Ribbon Task Force was created through funding from the Department of Energy to make recommendations regarding the functions of a Puerto Rico regulatory agency. The task force would seek to come up with ideas to ensure a safe, reliable and resilient electric grid that provides a strategic energy plan for the future.

The project, called “Strategizing an Electric Energy Policy and Regulatory Framework in Puerto Rico,” has two primary goals. The first is to work with the governor and the legislature of Puerto Rico to establish a reliable, affordable and sustainable electric energy grid system. The second is to develop a policy and legal framework to provide a regulatory regime for a possibly privatized electric energy grid system in Puerto Rico.

In addition to Sena, the task force members come from a diverse group of organizations in the United States and Puerto Rico. Members were identified and appointed by Puerto Rico Gov. Ricardo Rossello Nevares, Senate President Thomas Rivera Schatz, House Speaker Carlos Mendez Nunez, and leadership of the SSEB, a nonprofit entity created to enhance economic development in the south through innovations in energy and environmental policies.

Sena is one of 19 people on the task force.